Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Sade make it to Songwriters Hall

NEW YORK (AP) The Songwriters Hall of Fame has inducted Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Sade, Jeff Lynne, Glen Ballard, Teddy Riley, and Liz Rose, among others. This group joins the creators of such diverse hits as “Man in the Mirror,” “Drop It Like It’s Hot,” and “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You.”

The Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City will host a banquet on June 15 to officially induct the seven songwriters from the class of 2023.

Rappers Missy Elliott and Jay-Z will be in the hall with Snoop Dogg, whose songs include “Drop It Like It’s Hot” and “Gin & Juice”. With songs like “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” and “Let’s Get Loud,” two crossover hits by Estefan, Latin rhythms are credited with becoming more widely accepted.

Sade, a soul-jazz singer whose 1980s soft rock successes included “Smooth Operator” and “The Sweetest Taboo,” and Lynne, an ELO songwriter who wrote “Mr. Blue Sky” and “Evil Woman,” are among the honorees.

Ballard participated in the recording and composition of multiple Michael Jackson albums, including “Thriller,” “Bad,” and “Dangerous,” and contributed to the creation of Alanis Morissette’s seminal 1995 album “Jagged Little Pill.”

Bobby Brown’s “My Prerogative” and Keith Sweat’s “I Want Her,” two of New Jack Swing’s most popular anthems, are both credited to singer, songwriter, and producer Riley. Many songs, including “You Belong with Me,” “Teardrops on My Guitar,” and “White Horse,” were co-written by Rose and Taylor Swift.

Reference For This News

Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Sade make it to Songwriters Hall (

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *